One Mic, One Line mixer?

Anything not covered elsewhere.
Message
Author
Bruce Weldy
Posts: 7975
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#16 Post by Bruce Weldy » Fri Jun 24, 2022 2:49 pm

J_Dunavin wrote:
Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:54 pm


What do you guys think about this?
:?:

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

User avatar
J_Dunavin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Appleton WI
Contact:

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#17 Post by J_Dunavin » Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:58 pm

2 - OTop8
2 - T39
8 - DR200
2 - DR250
9 - T24
6 - T45
1 - Auto Tuba

Bruce Weldy
Posts: 7975
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#18 Post by Bruce Weldy » Fri Jun 24, 2022 5:26 pm

J_Dunavin wrote:
Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:58 pm
dag nab it!

https://www.parts-express.com/Rolls-PM3 ... x-245-1114
I get that it's small, but for a few bucks and just a little bit more real estate, you can get a proper mixer that you can utilize for a lot of things.....and it has some EQ on it. The Rolls will probably do what you want, but it's a one-trick pony....that's really designed for in-ear monitoring. If it was $29, I'd say sure.....but, there just isn't the bang for the buck.

You could always just use a breakout cable from the source to two 1/4" TS and insert direct into the driverack. Just set the driverack input to -10 instead of +4. I'd hate doing this personally because you always have the chance of blasting the crap out of the system if the source was turned up and you didn't realize it.

Of course.....I like mixers. :mrgreen:

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

User avatar
J_Dunavin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Appleton WI
Contact:

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#19 Post by J_Dunavin » Fri Jun 24, 2022 5:42 pm

good points.
Another reason why i was eyeing that USB MIX from ART. Since i am also doing those Zoom broadcasts for our church service, it would work for that as well.
2 - OTop8
2 - T39
8 - DR200
2 - DR250
9 - T24
6 - T45
1 - Auto Tuba

howiez
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Fox Valley, Wisconsin

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#20 Post by howiez » Mon Jun 27, 2022 10:05 pm

J_Dunavin, what do you use when you do your Youth Group dances, DJ off a PC? The reason I ask, with my current setup, I was leaning towards the small Yamaha recommended by Bruce. BUT, I came across a Focusrite Scarlett Red Solo. It had RCA line out, so I ran that to my Driverack with RCA-->XLR. It has USB audio, so i get my PC/DJ tunes into it. It has a front mounted XLR with level control for a mic. And it has one 1/8 TRS for instrument/line. You could probably run that with or without the PC like the other one you mentioned a few posts back. Focusrite link

Of course i lucked out my son had one laying around. And he says it was nowhere near the $100 for the current gen3. I see a few for $50 plus on FB marketplace. Also this, near you... M-audio link

User avatar
J_Dunavin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Appleton WI
Contact:

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#21 Post by J_Dunavin » Tue Jun 28, 2022 8:38 am

I currently have a very old Audio Kontrol 1 that I use with MIXXX, that happens to have mic and line inputs as well four balanced outputs, monitor capability and whatnot. I'll have to try again, but i remember this thing not working with just usb power and that i needed to have a laptop hooked up. I have looked at the Focusright stuff and would like to upgrade the interface for MIXXX, but if I do I would still like the four outputs option. The four outs gives me the option to assign two channels for headphone monitoring, something the Red Solo would not be able to so.
The M Audio piece looks nice and would work, so long as it passes audio without the need for a PC(just usb power).
I'll do some research on that guy.... thanks for the heads up, I love marketplace, it's like a 24 hour garage sale
2 - OTop8
2 - T39
8 - DR200
2 - DR250
9 - T24
6 - T45
1 - Auto Tuba

howiez
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Fox Valley, Wisconsin

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#22 Post by howiez » Tue Jun 28, 2022 12:47 pm

I think someone on here recommended the Audio Kontrol 1 for my setup, but I didn't find one yet.

Lucky you, haveing one already! Plug USB cable into the back of the Driverack. Mine (PA2) has USB for updating firmware I suppose, but you should be able to steal 5v USB power off it?

User avatar
J_Dunavin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Appleton WI
Contact:

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#23 Post by J_Dunavin » Tue Jun 28, 2022 5:50 pm

Update, the Audio Kontrol 1 does not pass audio with usb power only. ( plugged into a powered USB hub) the usb light just blinks and there is no control.
Also… I have a Driverack PX, no usb 🤷🏻‍♂️
2 - OTop8
2 - T39
8 - DR200
2 - DR250
9 - T24
6 - T45
1 - Auto Tuba

User avatar
Seth
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:06 pm
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Contact:

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#24 Post by Seth » Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:32 pm

Seems like this should work okay. Wouldn't be stereo, but looks like it would do what you want. There's an open box for $56 too.

Rolls 3 Ch. Mic Mixer/Combiner (MX310)
Build in process - 2 WH6, one Alpha 6a loaded, one PRV Audio 6MB250-NDY loaded

Two 2x6 shorty SLA Pro's
One T39, 16", 3012LF loaded
Tall AutoTuba, 20" wide, 2x 8" MCM 55-2421
TruckTuba, 8½" wide, 2x 8" MCM 55-2421

User avatar
J_Dunavin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Appleton WI
Contact:

Re: One Mic, One Line mixer?

#25 Post by J_Dunavin » Fri Jul 01, 2022 5:53 pm

Experimenting with what I have, this headphone amp works! I also tried a microphone into the input ( I know, wrong impedance) and it worked 😄
Is it right? No way! But it does get some audio through.
I promise I’m going to buy something proper 😄
1318CB9A-18BB-4ECF-BB1E-F7A244015F12.jpeg
2 - OTop8
2 - T39
8 - DR200
2 - DR250
9 - T24
6 - T45
1 - Auto Tuba

Post Reply