Simulating T48 in hornresp

Get the lowdown on the down low.
Evarist2

Simulating T48 in hornresp

#1 Post by Evarist2 »

Hello everyone! I am back on a new account, my previous was called "Evarist" but I forgot my password sadly...

I have now decided I wanted to start building the T48s (48x24x24) as I now have more time, and a bigger budget. However getting the Eminence drivers here for a fair price is hard (I am located in Europe: Belgium). So I wanted to try to simulate the T48s in hornresp, however I am encountering some issues (I am still new to the subject of loudspeaker design, but I am catching up).

I saw that Seth has done it before, so maybe he could provide his to me? It would help out a ton, as I would also learn from it.

Thanks in advance!

Grant Bunter

Re: Simulating T48 in hornresp

#2 Post by Grant Bunter »

What you are referring to is pretty much a problem anywhere in the world outside the USA.
Because of that, many of us waste countless hours looking for drivers based on what we consider to be reasonable cost, but they are compromises. Often said here; Buy once, cry once.

I wonder if you have plans yet?
Eminence isn't the only option, my older plans have options for drivers for those from Europe.
There's also an entire thread about where to get what in Europe as well.

Are you trying to reverse engineer the cabs so you can try other drivers?
Change the design, change the outcome.

Get into the theory later. For now, build your cabs, with recommended drivers, as designed.

I'm hoping Seth helps you, but not by giving you what he has done. You will learn far more getting through it yourself...
Built:
DR 250: x 2 melded array, 2x CD horn, March 2012 plans.
T39's: 4 x 20" KL3010LF , 2 x 28" 3012LF.
WH8: x 6 with melded array wired series/parallel.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

Evarist2

#3 Post by Evarist2 »