OmniTop12 tuning frequency

High power and fidelity from an easy to build cabinet.
Gbone

OmniTop12 tuning frequency

#1 Post by Gbone »

Hi all ... can anyone help identify the tuning frequency of the OmniTop 12 cabinet ?

I own the plans, calculated approximate cabinet volume and the two handle cutouts for venting.
I'm thinking its in the 90Hz range.
Horn loading looks like it starts to effect around 200Hz and up.

My plan is to experiment with this concept on a larger scale in upcoming months and looking to understand more about this design/concept.
I have no experience with front loaded vented cabinets. Any comments or information is appreciated.

Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin

Re: OmniTop12 tuning frequency

#2 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice »

It's closer to 75Hz. In a standard bass reflex with the drivers used tuning would be in the 45-50Hz region, for maximally flat response to the lowest possible frequency. By tuning it higher, along with a smaller than optimal rear chamber, the port output is higher, at the expense of low frequency extension, so that the port output matches that of the front wave. This also increases the effective driver resonant frequency, enhancing the horn sensitivity at the lower end of its range. There's no need to experiment, you model it in HornResp. That saves a lot of time, effort and plywood.

Gbone

#3 Post by Gbone »

Very informative Bill, thank you.
I do have HornResp and with my limited experience played with conical front loaded horn, vented chamber scenario. After inputting cabinet dimensions and TS parameters the response looked different from your SPL charts. The venting parameters tried were incorrect (90Hz). Chose conical because I could play with the Loudspeaker wizard in that scenario. Also chose quarter space. Definitely going to continue to learn how to use HornResp.

"This also increases the effective driver resonant frequency, enhancing the horn sensitivity at the lower end of its range."