bi amping an cabling

Anything not covered elsewhere.
joblow88

bi amping an cabling

#1 Post by joblow88 »

So i was reading online about bi amping and one of the advantage is the reduce interference from the low to affect the high. my question is does it will afect my sound if i have a single cable with 4 connector going to my tops? ?

Bruce Weldy

Re: bi amping an cabling

#2 Post by Bruce Weldy »

joblow88 wrote: Tue Feb 14, 2023 12:09 pm So i was reading online about bi amping and one of the advantage is the reduce interference from the low to affect the high. my question is does it will afect my sound if i have a single cable with 4 connector going to my tops? ?
I've been running shows for over 40 years and have never felt the need to bi-amp. It requires additional amps, more expensive cable and unless you have a lot of practice at it and a good ear, you most likely won't get the PA sounding any better than with passive boxes.

Spend your time on learning frequencies and tuning your system EQ properly before each show and at each venue. Then learn how to build a mix - focusing on each instrument finding its sonic space in the mix....not trying to make each instrument sound really big and full all by itself.

That will do more to affect your sound than running your system bi-amped.

6 - T39 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512
1 - T24
1 - SLA Pro
2 - XF210

"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin

#3 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice »

joblow88 wrote: Tue Feb 14, 2023 12:09 pm So i was reading online about bi amping and one of the advantage is the reduce interference from the low to affect the high.
There are some valid reasons to bi-amp, but that's not one of them.

joblow88

#4 Post by joblow88 »