Hello!

jmutts

Hello!

#1 Post by jmutts »

Hi all,
New guy checking in from Ontario, Canada. I stumbled onto this lovely corner of the internet while looking into DIY subwoofer designs and am certainly glad I did.

Some background on me, I'm a software engineer, woodworker, and music lover. I've designed and built a wide variety of furniture, electronics, and random knick·knacks over the years, but have never built any speakers, though I've always toyed with the idea.

My current use case is to build some subs to add to a semi-mobile DJ setup that I use with friends for house parties and mini club nights/festivals throughout the year. We're *usually* indoors, but do go outdoors on occasion. Probably about an 85/15% split over the course of the year.

We play almost exclusively electronic music, typically techno/house/trance and their various subgenres. I've already scoped out a sample of my library and a fair number of my tracks have content down to the 20Hz range.

Our current setup consists of a few pairs of EV ETX 12Ps for tops, owned by a few different folks, paired with EV ETX15SP subs and an equalizer that we rent as needed.

This journey started as a way to eliminate the need to rent subs, and at the same time build an amp rack with a DriveRack for the extra features over the basic EQ, which landed me here. I haven't bought any plans or drivers yet, though I'll likely just buy the whole bundle so I'll be ready when I cave and decide to build some new tops and sell the EVs, haha.

I'm currently bouncing between building a pair of Tuba 30s or Titan 39s (possibly quickly followed by another pair, especially for outdoor shows) and am hoping to get some opinions, though it seems like I can't really go wrong with either.

The goal, first and foremost, is the listening experience. I want to (eventually) build a system that would put most nightclubs to shame. Bass you can feel in your bones, but without sacrificing clarity for loudness.