Hi from Florida!

Trent Swei

Hi from Florida!

#1 Post by Trent Swei »

Hi y'all! I'm Trent and I'm a college student in beautiful, sunny Florida! I'm a member of a fraternity here on campus. I mention this because my brothers were looking at buying a new sound system. When I took a look at what they'd chosen, all of the speakers and subs were the cheap stuff you find on eBay and Amazon. Now honestly, none of these guys are audiophiles. And they really only have 1 requirement for the system: L O U D. But once I started researching building speakers, I started noticing that you can achieve much better, and louder, sound for a lower price than even some of this cheap stuff they were looking at buying.

I researched Bill's designs tirelessly and fell in love with them, as well as the community around them. My brothers loved the idea of building our own speakers as well. That being said, we're hoping you can all help us decide on what we should build/how many of each speaker we actually need.

Here are some of the parameters we're working with:
-These speakers will mainly be brought outdoors, used at tailgates, and then safely stored inside. The courtyard where the tailgates take place is approximately a rectangle 25 yards long by 20 yards wide. One of the 25 yard sides is bordered by a 2 story tall building and the other 25 yard side of the rectangle is a raised deck where the speakers will be.
-They want the speakers to be "concert level loud". Basically, they'd like to have the ability to make the outdoors feel like a club if at all possible (electrifying highs and mids; chest pounding bass)
-The music being played at lower levels will mainly be hip hop, electronic dance music, and country. At loud volume, it will mainly be local DJs playing electronic dance music and hip hop.
-Power supply is not a constraint.
-We only have about a $1500-$1600 build budget, but we have access to most of, if not all of, the tools we need in order to build.