Looking for electric bass cab: Ampeg SVT-210AV replacement

Anything not covered elsewhere.
SteveFromBerlin

Looking for electric bass cab: Ampeg SVT-210AV replacement

#1 Post by SteveFromBerlin »

Hey guys, Newbie here!

I was interested in building a bass cab for a long time and always hesitated because of the lack of good plans available. I have just found out about BFM and tried to do a little bit of homework.

Here’s my situation:

I currently use up to four Ampeg SVT-210AV. I do know they are medium duty cabs and far inferior compared to top of the line products:

LF Driver: 2 x 10" Eminence Speakers
RMS Power Handling: 200 Watts @ 8ohms
Frequency Response (-3dB): 58Hz-5kHz
Usable Low Frequency (-10dB): 40Hz
Nominal Impedance: 1 x 8 ohms (Mono)
Dimensions (W x H x D inches): 13 x 24 x 11

The thing is, I really appreciate the low weight, the small form factor, the punch of a sealed construction and most of all - the slight lack of bottom end as well as top end, as I don’t like modern brittle electric bass sounds. Over here in Berlin, I often play small clubs where I have to stay up close to the wall, or worse, in a corner where things tend to get boomy. Most of the time I am standing approximately 20-30 inches away, that's why I like two cabs stacked on top of another.

The Ampegs are very light (26 lbs), have a minimal footprint (I mostly only use two vertically stacked) and they don’t get boomy - which I love!

:feedback:

Now what type of BFM would you recommend if I’d be looking for something similar?
  • light in weight (max 33 lbs? I’d rather use more than one of them)
  • small dimensions (rather tall than wide and deep)
  • maybe a tad more bass, but still very controlled lo end