Keeping the cabinet square

Anything not covered elsewhere.
rogerc

Keeping the cabinet square

#1 Post by rogerc »

I've just started building 2 Jacks but I can't see that the method suggested in the plans (fitting top and bottom of the cab to the horn/baffle and then fitting the sides) can result in a square cornered cab. If the horn dimensions or angles are marginally off, the error is magnified at the cab edges. I part assembled mine and found this problem so I've taken them apart and will be constructing the cab carcase first and bracing this square, and then fit the horn/baffle assembly to the carcase. This way I can shoot the horn assembly to fit.

Anyone else found this an issue?
2 Jack 112 - DL2512+melded array
4 WH8 - Beta8+melded array
2 T39s LAB12 - coming soon

JerryTyzack

Re: Keeping the cabinet square

#2 Post by JerryTyzack »

I used the techniques Bill describes in the plans with no problems. I am an inexpert woodworker. One box came out perfectly square, the other was fractionally out (about 2-3mm). The only precaution I took was I waited until the box was finished before trimming the back to fit. As I lack woodworking experience and was using fairly basic tools (I don't have access to a table saw) I found the method Bill describes allowed me to correct for minor errors as I went along. The main thing is take it steady and make sure your joints are airtight. Have fun!!
Built
2 x Jack 10, DLII 2510, 4 piezo flat array

bzb

#3 Post by bzb »

My OTs are slightly off square due to me rushing it. One thing you can do is build those clamping jigs that are in some of the Titan threads - I think Bruce Weldy did them.