New amp(s) for Titan 48/Omnitop 12 rig

Is this amp OK?
Post Reply
Message
Author
bradn7
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Concordia, KS, USA

New amp(s) for Titan 48/Omnitop 12 rig

#1 Post by bradn7 » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:13 pm

Hey all. I have posted in the past and had great luck with getting the information I needed. I have had my rig up and running for many happy years until recently. I had a gig in a small town with horrible power and ended up ruining not only my two amps( QSC RMX 2450's) but also blew one of my subwoofer speakers. Luckily I had a spare set of Peavey Lowrider 15's and swapped those out only because they were cheaper to replace and faster to swap in the future.

Anyway my question is with my rig I have 4 Omnitop j-array speakers and 2 Titan 48's. I would like to lighten up the rack a bit compared to the old iron beasts I had in the rig. I have been thinking of getting a QSC PLD 4.3 or 4.5 because with one amp it will run everything and I can limit it down to the recommended voltages but also use it on other rigs I may have to use in the future. Any recommendations?

System consists of
4 Omnitop 12 J-array
2 Titan 48 24"
DBX Driverack 360
2 QSC RMX 2450's
1 QSC PLD 4.2
Mackie Onyx 24

Rich4349
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Kankakee, IL

Re: New amp(s) for Titan 48/Omnitop 12 rig

#2 Post by Rich4349 » Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:43 pm

The PLDs look good: with the onboard DSP you MIGHT stop blowing your speakers with excess voltage. :lol:
2 DR250s, 2 27" Lab15 T-60s, 2 30" Neo Titan 39s, 1 Autotuba...and looking for more!

bradn7
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Concordia, KS, USA

Re: New amp(s) for Titan 48/Omnitop 12 rig

#3 Post by bradn7 » Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:08 pm

I know I know. That gig was a heck of an ordeal. The power was over 100 feet in either direction from the stage and by the time it reached the stage it was showing less than 100 volts. They brought gennies later but they only put out 104 volts. That was after the amps failed. My fault. Paying for it now. I just want to make sure I'm not being overzealous with the power.

PS the rmx were the amps that were running mains. Stereo on both.

Post Reply