How to check amp voltage

Is this amp OK?
squidfingers729

How to check amp voltage

#1 Post by squidfingers729 »

I'm pretty new to using a multimeter. When I say new, I mean I just opened the package for the thing. Would someone be kind enough to explain this in baby language for me, from what settings to put the meter on, to where to stick the business ends of the meter on my XTI2000? I just don't know where to make contact with the speakon connectors.

My meter: http://i.walmartimages.com/i/p/00/04/21 ... 00X500.jpg

Grant Bunter

Re: How to check amp voltage

#2 Post by Grant Bunter »

Sure thing,
Read the manual for your new toy because you're going to play with electricity.
That's not being sarcastic.

From that, work out where the red and black lead plug into the unit and set it on AC 200. Heads up, with an amplifier you're working with AC voltage.

You don't need to go near the speakon(s) because the XTI, at least according to the manual, has binding posts. So black lead to black binding post and red to red, the probes need to contact the metal in the middle of the binding post to get a reading.
Built:
DR 250: x 2 melded array, 2x CD horn, March 2012 plans.
T39's: 4 x 20" KL3010LF , 2 x 28" 3012LF.
WH8: x 6 with melded array wired series/parallel.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

squidfingers729

#3 Post by squidfingers729 »

Hey thanks for the response, it helps a bunch!

Just curious, but where do you make contact on amps with just 1/4 jacks?

Grant Bunter

#4 Post by Grant Bunter »

squidfingers729 wrote:Hey thanks for the response, it helps a bunch!

Just curious, but where do you make contact on amps with just 1/4 jacks?
You plug in a 1/4" jack, either with "bare tails" (ie the wire to tip and the wire to sleeve are stripped and separated so they don't touch), or a 1/4" jack without cables attached, and put red on tip and black on sleeve.