Bass cab head

Is this amp OK?
Chris_Allen

Bass cab head

#1 Post by Chris_Allen »

I'm looking to build my arsenal by having a spare bass head. Not being a bassist, I'm a little lost.

I'm aiming to buy used, so is there any make/model that you guys can recommend?
Built:
6xDR200, 2xT39, 2xT48, 2xJack110, 1xOmni10.5, 1xAutotuba, 1xT18, 1xSLA Pro, 1xW8, 1xW10

izzytoots

Re: Bass cab head

#2 Post by izzytoots »

I'm in the same boat. Building a Jack 112 with the 2512's and tweeter array. I'm an amateur bassist, so I'm used to using combo amp and this whole bass head stuff has me lost. I'm building the jack 112 to be used as a nice bass cab to use that will eventually become part of a PA down the road ( when i have more monies).

AntonZ

#3 Post by AntonZ »

I recently purchased a used Tecamp Puma 350 head. Totally love it. I want an amp head to be light weight and compact. For features I want some 300W power, a tuner output, effects loop, mute button, a DI and speakon outputs. The little Tecamp is a good match for those needs. They are rather expensive new, but have excellent quality parts and build.

But that is just what works for me, with my budget and my preferences and needs. What is your budget, and what do you search for in an amp head?

izzytoots

#4 Post by izzytoots »

I'm looking for used or new heads in the $100-150 price range (knida on a limited budget and I'm a novice). As for features, all i really want is the basics, I'm fine with extra filters and finer EQ, but I'm not expecting much with my budget. As for power, I'm building a J112 with the 2512s (250w RMS) and an 8 tweeter straight array, so it doesn't need much power. I would love to have a tube amp, but that is harder to upkeep and probably a lot harder to find in my price range. Also, having an amp that would world well with an electric keyboard would be a big plus, but not essential.

AntonZ

#5 Post by AntonZ »