On Board Amp

Is this amp OK?
Message
Author
Bruce Weldy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: On Board Amp

#16 Post by Bruce Weldy » Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:38 pm

Like this...
Attachments
WH10 Build 082 small.JPG

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

mino00
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:23 pm
Location: Houston tx

Re: On Board Amp

#17 Post by mino00 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:59 pm

I bought crossover's built by speakerhardware on ly + and - input so how do I wire high & low frequency from the amp to this cross over ? I am totally confuse .
Thanks

User avatar
Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin
Posts: 27335
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 5:59 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#18 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice » Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:08 pm

You don't use a crossover. The woofer is powered by the low frequency amp, the tweeters are powered by the high frequency amp. You may get somewhat better results if you have a piezo array using the high pass filter in the plans.

mino00
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:23 pm
Location: Houston tx

Re: On Board Amp

#19 Post by mino00 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 8:33 pm

Thank you very much I understand now

tizlaney
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:56 am
Location: Bishopville, SC

Re: On Board Amp

#20 Post by tizlaney » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:47 am

Bill, I am looking to use a SRM450 plate amp in a set of SLA PRO 4X6.

The back brackets for the center support would be in the way of the amp installation. How would you recommend modifying? I would prefer the amp not be side mounted.
The back panel is sufficient in size to allow installation if the two supports are eliminated or modified.

User avatar
Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin
Posts: 27335
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 5:59 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#21 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice » Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:06 am

No link.

tizlaney
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:56 am
Location: Bishopville, SC

Re: On Board Amp

#22 Post by tizlaney » Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:07 am

Sorry about that.

https://lase.us/shop?olsPage=products%2 ... aker-w-dsp

I have used this to fix a broken Mackie 450 and it is a pretty close match to the 450 amp, plus it adds DSP.

User avatar
Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin
Posts: 27335
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 5:59 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#23 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice » Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:29 am

You could eliminate the center support and instead use 1x2 braces to connect the front to the back and the sides to each other spaced to avoid the amp.

Paddlsonic
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:54 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#24 Post by Paddlsonic » Tue Sep 08, 2020 5:14 am

i am thinking of building 2 x tuba30 and 2x DR280 or something similar.

Could one of these Dayton units power 1 x tuba and 1 x dr280? in which case i'd buy 2 of these.
Or could it power 2 x tuba on one unit and 2 x DR280 on the other unit?
If so which is the better config?

Or have i totally missed the mark trying to power up this config using this unit?

cheers

Bruce Weldy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: On Board Amp

#25 Post by Bruce Weldy » Tue Sep 08, 2020 7:30 am

It's only 600 watts at 4 ohms.....that's not going to drive the Tubas with premium speakers to their potential. But, you have a few other issues. 2 Tuba 30s aren't going to keep up with 2 DR280s.

And based on your question, I'd assume you were planning to split the subs which isn't a good idea.

You might want to start a new thread telling us what you are trying to accomplish and we can help you get there.

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

Paddlsonic
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:54 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#26 Post by Paddlsonic » Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:57 pm

Thanks Bruce.

As you saw in the other thread i'm still working on config but your advice about the DR200's sounds like a good balance.

Don't need to split the subs.

could i run one unit for each sub and another for both the DR200's? Will that drive everything to potential?
I'm obviously new to this, but i like these Dayton units as everything you need seems to be built in and i like the software.
Unless there's another product similar you can recommend.

cheers

Bruce Weldy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: On Board Amp

#27 Post by Bruce Weldy » Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:17 pm

I recommend forgetting about the plate amps for this kind of system. Get a driverack and either two amps or a 4 channel amp capable of about 500 watts at 8 ohms. Put 'em in a small rack. Less cables, good limiter, and EQ in the driverack to set it all up.

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

User avatar
Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin
Posts: 27335
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 5:59 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#28 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice » Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:23 pm

One of those plate amps could drive a pair of DR200, but you don't want to use them for subs. One of these would handle a pair of T30: https://www.parts-express.com/b-52-actp ... --299-2336

Paddlsonic
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:54 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#29 Post by Paddlsonic » Wed Sep 09, 2020 3:59 am

Thanks guys , really appreciate all the advice

Paddlsonic
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:54 pm

Re: On Board Amp

#30 Post by Paddlsonic » Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:38 am

Am i right in thinking this product https://www.parts-express.com/b-52-actp ... --299-2336 , has a set crossover at 100hz?
i was thinking of using this sub amp on my subs and Dayton full range amp on the DR200 tops with the delta pro 8a . It seems like the DR's drop off a bit above that, around 130hz? I guess i need a sub amp that has variable crossover to cover the 100-130hz range??

or am not right in thinking that?

cheers

Post Reply