Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

Is this amp OK?
Post Reply
Message
Author
SethRocksYou
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:06 pm
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Contact:

Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#1 Post by SethRocksYou » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:56 pm

Leland, or anyone else... I recently added some Ashly amplifiers to my gear. Two ne8250pe's and one ne1600pe. Yes, they're designed for install so I'll have to put some xlr and speakON to euroblock pigtails together.

I'm in love with the Protea software and DSP functionality within these amps and being able to have them networked and accessible through my existing gig network and laptop has nearly got me giddy. :hyper:

Anyway, on to my question; Purely speculation on my part, but it seems that the amps have some sort of load sensing circuitry that's preventing me from getting a voltage reading on the outputs. With speakers disconnected and levels just shy of clipping, I'm not getting any voltage reading at the outputs. Yet, the outputs function as expected with speakers connected.

How might I go about checking voltage and setting limiters in this situation? Should/could I just wire something like a toaster oven to the outputs to provide a dummy resistive load? Primary intent at the moment is just to see what they're putting out for voltage, and secondary intent is setting the brick wall limiters for/at a future time.

Thoughts?

Grant Bunter
Posts: 6156
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
Contact:

Re: Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#2 Post by Grant Bunter » Fri Aug 30, 2019 1:49 am

I reckon you should over employ the limiter initially, and keep your master fader down, with speakers connected.
Keep on juggling the limiter and the faders until you get to desired limiting voltage at unity.
Final check, with attenuators down say 1/2, slam your masters up and see if voltage changes, it shouldn't.
If it passes that, back to attenuators on full...
Built:
DR 250: x 2 (melded array) with March 2012 plans. 2 more under way with CD horn
T39's: 4 x 20" BP102 , 2 x 28" 3012lf.
WH8: x 3 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

SethRocksYou
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:06 pm
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#3 Post by SethRocksYou » Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:38 am

Makes sense Grant. I'll give it a shot. Thanks for the recommendation.

Grant Bunter
Posts: 6156
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
Contact:

Re: Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#4 Post by Grant Bunter » Fri Aug 30, 2019 3:36 pm

It really doesn't let you measure the output beforehand, but it does let you get the limiters set...
Built:
DR 250: x 2 (melded array) with March 2012 plans. 2 more under way with CD horn
T39's: 4 x 20" BP102 , 2 x 28" 3012lf.
WH8: x 3 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

SethRocksYou
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:06 pm
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#5 Post by SethRocksYou » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:00 pm

Sooooooo... I just wanted to own up to a mistake I made. On my DMM selection dial, AC and DC voltage are the same selection and it says auto-ranging. I've used other DMM's in the past that read either AC or DC automatically. But this one, I have to press a button and cycle through the "ranges" to get to the AC ranges. I get that auto-range isn't auto-sensing, and I'm aware of what the ranges are. This one's just set up a little different than I thought it was.

Oops. Good to know.

Grant Bunter
Posts: 6156
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
Contact:

Re: Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#6 Post by Grant Bunter » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:38 pm

Glad you worked it out!
Built:
DR 250: x 2 (melded array) with March 2012 plans. 2 more under way with CD horn
T39's: 4 x 20" BP102 , 2 x 28" 3012lf.
WH8: x 3 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

User avatar
LelandCrooks
Posts: 7224
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Midwest/Kansas/Speaker Nirvana
Contact:

Re: Ashly amplifier question. Leland?

#7 Post by LelandCrooks » Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:41 am

Sorry, forgot to check in. Glad you figured it out. And yes, Ashly dsp will ruin you forever.
If it's too loud, you're even older than me! Like me.
http://www.speakerhardware.com

Post Reply