2 questions about THTLP build

For livingroom sound better than in a theatre.
DaveMacKay

2 questions about THTLP build

#1 Post by DaveMacKay »

I am not quite half way through building a THTLP. This is my first attempt at building speakers and I've been pleased with how the build has gone so far. However, I have two questions I hope forum members can help me with.

1) I'm using a Dayton RSS315 HF-4 12" woofer (not an extended surround driver like the Dayton Ultimax). When mounting the woofer on panel 6, should the woofer be all on one side of the panel (i.e., front of speaker flange against the panel), or should the flange be on one side with the rest of the woofer protruding through the hole (i.e., rear of speaker flange against the panel)? I looked at the the Sketchup plans but wasn't able to tell.

One image appears to show the woofer all on one side (not the side with the retention blocks) of the panel (i.e., the front of the flange in contact with the panel):
one side.jpg
one side.jpg (27.6 KiB) Viewed 695 times
Whereas another image (perhaps for an extended surround driver) shows the flange on the other side of the panel (i.e., rear of the flange in contact with the panel):
through panel.jpg
through panel.jpg (23.04 KiB) Viewed 695 times

Currently, I've mounted the woofer so that the front of the flange is in contact with the panel (i.e., all on one side of the panel).

However, because the screws are awfully close to the hole in the panel,
screws close to edge of hole.jpg
I wondered if the woofer should be mounted through the hole (i.e., back side of flange in contact with the panel) to provide more support.

The THTLP build instructions state that the Dayton RSS315 HF-4 needs gasket tape. There is a hard rubber material on the front side of the flange,
flange front.JPG
flange back.JPG
and a softer rubber material on the back side of the flange.