Drivers TLAH and SLA

For livingroom sound better than in a theatre.
JohnJohansson

Drivers TLAH and SLA

#1 Post by JohnJohansson »

Hi!

I have an old pair of TLAHs and one CurveArray SLA. I build it when i was a student on a limited budget which has now changed.
I would love to build a pair of new speakers.

So i wonder what is the best mid and tweeters element I can get for the TLAH pair and the CurveArray SLA?
I'm thinking of spending up till 1000$ for the elements, I have no idea, that may be overkill?

Since I live in Sweden it's easiest for me if it exists on https://www.parts-express.com

Hope someone has time and the knowledge what I have to buy to spoil my ears. This time for real!

Best Regards
John Johansson

Seth

Re: Drivers TLAH and SLA

#2 Post by Seth »

Hey John, I'm Seth. Welcome (back).

Out of curiosity, is there something about them, the way they are now, that you'd expect to improve with new drivers?
Build in process - 2 WH6, one Alpha 6a loaded, one PRV Audio 6MB250-NDY loaded

Two 2x6 shorty SLA Pro's
One T39, 16", 3012LF loaded
Tall AutoTuba, 20" wide, 2x 8" MCM 55-2421
TruckTuba, 8½" wide, 2x 8" MCM 55-2421

Tom Smit

#3 Post by Tom Smit »

Welcome to the forum!

I was wondering the same thing as Seth.
TomS

JohnJohansson

#4 Post by JohnJohansson »

Hi Tom and Seth!

Th current ones isn't built with the recommended drivers cause I couldn't afford it at the time.
The midrange I got is really weak on the lower frequencies and make some voices sounds like the are living in a can.

So I guess I want more full range and especially some power in the ranges below 2000hz.
Want to get really clear and nice audio

jimbo7

#5 Post by jimbo7 »