PA speaker management modules

The hows and whys of running sound.
MysticMichael

PA speaker management modules

#1 Post by MysticMichael »

Am currently scoping out components for a compact, modular, scalable touring PA system for a four-piece band, to be configured at some point in the future, possibly late this year, early next year. Very tentatively (at this point), it would probably include something like (4) DR200s + (8) T39s. And I'm going to invest in a 32-channel digital mixing board (possibly the Behringer X32). Still on the drawing board...

One component with which I have very little experience is speaker management modules. Am presently looking at the dbx DriveRack PA+ and the Carvin XD360. Prices are very comparable - around $500 for the dbx, around $400 for the Carvin. As for features, they both seem well-equipped. I'm simply not knowledgeable enough to discern which one, if either, has the edge. And how so?

Would anyone care to weigh in? Anyone experienced with either, or both, of these products?

Thanks,

MM
"If the doors of perception were cleansed, everything would appear to man as it is: infinite."

- William Blake

Bruce Weldy

Re: PA speaker management modules

#2 Post by Bruce Weldy »

MysticMichael wrote:Am currently scoping out components for a compact, modular, scalable touring PA system for a four-piece band, to be configured at some point in the future, possibly late this year, early next year. Very tentatively (at this point), it would probably include something like (4) DR200s + (8) T39s. And I'm going to invest in a 32-channel digital mixing board (possibly the Behringer X32). Still on the drawing board...