Problem with DEQ2496

The hows and whys of running sound.
Post Reply
Message
Author
skuzz
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:11 pm
Location: Lubbock, TX

Problem with DEQ2496

#1 Post by skuzz » Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:49 am

I have 2 DEQ2496's currently running on 2 monitor mixes. After a couple of hours of rehearsal, one of them started restarting on its own, operating for a minute or so, and restarting again, constantly. Has anyone run into anything like this? Is it a heat issue? I wouldn't think so, considering both are in the same rack. Is it just a bad unit? I don't think it has happened before this past weekend.
BFM Builds:

2 x SLA Pro
2 x Jack 12
2x T24
4 x WH6

CoronaOperator
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:07 pm
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#2 Post by CoronaOperator » Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:53 am

Try a new IEC power cord. I've had intermittent power issues with mine and the power cord was the fault.
Built:
17" width 10" driver Autotuba
2 x 29" width dual Lab12 Tuba60
6 x DR250 2510/asd1001
In progress:
2 x DR250 2510/asd1001
For best results, point the loud end of the array towards the audience

Bruce Weldy
Posts: 6187
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#3 Post by Bruce Weldy » Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:55 am

CoronaOperator wrote:Try a new IEC power cord. I've had intermittent power issues with mine and the power cord was the fault.
Or just make sure that it's plugged all the way in. Those can get loose in a rack also.

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

CoronaOperator
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:07 pm
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#4 Post by CoronaOperator » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:02 pm

With my issue it was plugged in, just bad contacts in the cord
Built:
17" width 10" driver Autotuba
2 x 29" width dual Lab12 Tuba60
6 x DR250 2510/asd1001
In progress:
2 x DR250 2510/asd1001
For best results, point the loud end of the array towards the audience

Noclu
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:03 am

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#5 Post by Noclu » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:38 pm

Had a similar failure with an other device.
Could be a faulty capacitor.

If there is no Warranty on it, open it and check for "Blown up" Capacitors

Normally a cap should have a flat top, not a rounded "Blown up" one.

skuzz
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:11 pm
Location: Lubbock, TX

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#6 Post by skuzz » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:49 pm

Seems like it was the power cord. I turned it back on with the same cord (after making sure it was attached properly) and with nothing else running in the rack, it started acting up again. I changed the cord out with the other DEQ in the rack and it hasn't had any problems yet.
BFM Builds:

2 x SLA Pro
2 x Jack 12
2x T24
4 x WH6

David Raehn
Posts: 661
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:56 pm
Location: Colonial Beach VA

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#7 Post by David Raehn » Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 pm

I carry dozens of extra IEC cables with my rig.

There always seems to be a couple missing or a band member forgot one or one gets mangled.....
Authorized Builder.

User avatar
dswpro
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:17 pm

Re: Problem with DEQ2496

#8 Post by dswpro » Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:45 am

I have one and it had issues overheating in my amp rack, particularly on a hot day in the sunlight. It would lock up with a memory error requiring a reboot. I have since moved it into an effects rack at FOH and no issues since.

Post Reply