2x Tuba 30 Build (First Build)

Post your build odyssey here.
jdthorpe

2x Tuba 30 Build (First Build)

#1 Post by jdthorpe »

Jeff here...I’ve posted a few questions here and there on the Tuba/Titan thread and jimbo7 suggested I start a build thread to post my questions as they come up throughout the build. I’m new to passive speaker setups as I’ve always purchased active speakers for my business, home etc. I’m also very aware that you can fry drivers pretty easily if things are done wrong so I’m trying to glean as much info as I can from previous posts in this forum & on the net, but I’m going to still have a lot of questions. Yes, I’m a newbie... I’m building 2 Tuba 30’s 24” wide single loaded with 3012lf drivers. I have the majority of my wood cut and will be starting the assembly soon. Here are a few questions that have recently come up:

-I have a Crown XLS 2502 amp that I will be using for the Tubas. I’m ready to break in the drivers as well as test to make sure the surround doesn’t hit the baffle as suggested in Bill’s plans (I alluded to this in a previous post but didn’t ask exactly how to hook everything up). I don’t want to fry my drivers and internet “how-to” searches show a lot of guys breaking in drivers, but no real “idiots guides” to doing it correctly without damaging your speakers. For anyone familiar with the Crown XLS series, what specific settings do I need to have my “Amp Mode,” “Crossover,” “Input Sensitivity” set to for the surround/baffle test and for the breaking in process? and should I use the “Factory Reset” option to reset the amp so there’s nothing set in the background that could cause issues?