Measuring Piezo Tweeters with LC Meter

Got speaker theory questions? This is where you'll find the answers.
LouC

Measuring Piezo Tweeters with LC Meter

#1 Post by LouC »

I've been gathering piezo tweeters for a couple years, throwing them into orders to round up for free shipping etc.

Today I gathered them all up to test them before putting them in a couple melded arrays. Went through about 60-70. I started with the pink noise, got rapidly bored with that. So I brought out my LC meter and checked capacitance on each tweet . My sonic memory isn't as good as sorting by numbers. :roll:

Interesting empirical results. I found a continuity from roughly 0.080 uF up to 0.320 uf. The majority ran between 0.130 and 0.150.
The higher the capacitance, the brighter (louder???) the tweeter sounded both with pink noise and music source. The 300 group sounded pretty shrill and raspy (10-12). The 100 or less group were the obvious defectives (about eight). I wound up with a 4th group 200-250 (about 15) that were brighter than the 130-150 group (about 35 tweeters)

I'm going to build my arrays out of the 130-150 group. Just thought I'd throw this out there for comment.

Tom Smit

Re: Measuring Piezo Tweeters with LC Meter

#2 Post by Tom Smit »

Thank you, sir.

Or is it madam? Lucy? :lol: :conf:
TomS

LelandCrooks

#3 Post by LelandCrooks »

Interesting, never tried that. Might be faster than the white noise I use. Although I have gotten to the point I identify them in about a second.
If it's too loud, you're even older than me! Like me.
http://www.speakerhardware.com

Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin

#4 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice »

LelandCrooks wrote:Interesting, never tried that. Might be faster than the white noise I use. Although I have gotten to the point I identify them in about a second.