Another New Guy Seeking Your Help

djohnson573

Another New Guy Seeking Your Help

#1 Post by djohnson573 »

Greetings! This is my first post on this forum so I wanted to say hello. I have been lurking for a while and have read numerous posts here as well as the entire Bill Fitz Designs thread (it took about 3 weeks lol) on the djforums. While I am currently a businessman, I was a professional musician in my youth and my first guitar amp was a Heathkit (that should take some of you back a ways). Recently I have become interested in sound again and have a couple of easy DJ gigs under my belt.

I am very excited by the prospect of building a few of Bill’s speaker designs. Despite all the reading I have done, I still can’t decide what combination would best suit my needs, and that is where I need your help. So, I will list my criteria and hopefully someone here will lead me in the right direction.

1. I will be playing prerecorded music, and I want it to sound great.
2. I need light weight gear. I’m no spring chicken, so lugging 100 lb cabinets is no longer in the cards. I also don’t have loads of storage space, so I would like it all to fit in a 4 x 5 cargo trailer.
3. I want a scalable system that can be configured for small venues and grow up to the average gym sized middle school dance (300 or so?).
4. I would like to be able to run the required electronics on a single 20 amp circuit with plenty of room for lights. I’ve seen several venues where one commercial outlet is all you get.