Welfare PA project

mcstewart

Welfare PA project

#1 Post by mcstewart »

Hey all,

Long time listener, first time caller. I have been pouring over this forum like some kind of sacred audio text for some time now and I really appreciate all the technical info and am still amazed at the pics of the fantastic craftsmanship. I am in awe. I need some advice. I am building a "welfare" PA rig intended mostly for my own enjoyment with the possibility of playing out at very small venues (i.e. coffee houses etc...) I am not a professional musician so I don't want to sink a small fortune into this endevour. I still want to build a quality system that will easiley surpass the performance of say JBL Ion or Fender Passport without incurring the wrath of the boss. My plan is to build a couple of omni 10.5's using the MCM 55-1740 (hence the name "welfare"). Has anybody actually used these? Also I need something for the bottom end. Can I run just one sub? I am thinking Tuba 24 (want to keep it small). I know Bill says that subs like alot of company but will just one Tuba 24 work or will I need at least two?

Any advice would be very appreciated.

Thanks - Mark

SoundInMotionDJ

Re: Welfare PA project

#2 Post by SoundInMotionDJ »

For a coffee house, I would look at a pair of SLA's, and a pair of T18's. For $250-ish in drivers, wood, and hardware you would have a killer setup for small rooms. The best part is that if you ever want to upgrade the rig - it could easily move in as your new home theater system.

The smallest 1U amp you can find will be more than enough to kick butt over a passport system. Given the light demands, even the American Audio VLP-300 would be overkill - that amp is available for $175.

--Stan Graves
10 T39S + 10 DR200 + 1 T48

Mikey

#3 Post by Mikey »

Mark, there are a few more things you could tell us which would allow us to better help you...