Omni 10, first build ever! Advice?

bthiemann80

Omni 10, first build ever! Advice?

#1 Post by bthiemann80 »

Hey guys, just thought i'd drop a line about my first cabinet building endeavor. I have absolutely no cabinet or wood working experience to speak of. However, my brother in law has extensive wood working knowledge and experience and a decent shop to work in. He has basically given me the green light to use his shop and will be available for assistance. I already have the plans to build an Omni 10 along with the panel jig plans. I've been reading them over and i'm pretty confident in my ability to make this a good cabinet. I play bass and will be using a QSC GX3 to power it for use with smaller, more acoustic based groups. The cabinet will probably host the Eminence BP102's for their increased bass response on the low end and taper off at the high end where the peizo's pick up and wear a deep dark redish wood stain with clear epoxy finishing coats. Since this is my first build ever, I would GREATLY appreciate any advice! It will probably be a while before I start the build but hopefully will remember to post some status reports along the way or at least some photo's of the end product. Wish me luck!

Tim A

Re: Omni 10, first build ever! Advice?

#2 Post by Tim A »

bthiemann80 wrote: my brother in law has extensive wood working knowledge and experience and a decent shop to work in...and will be available for assistance...I would GREATLY appreciate any advice!
Welcome aboard!

The best advice anyone can possibly give you is to follow the plans. Most guys with extensive woodworking experience know many ways to get something done, and may provide a well-meaning nudge that sends you down the wrong path. That could be something as simple as changing adhesives, which may seem like an innocuous deviation, but it isn't.

So, follow the plans, ask questions here, and let your Bro-in-law show you the right way to make cuts.