Bass player building Omni 15

tks

Bass player building Omni 15

#1 Post by tks »

Hello everyone!

My name is Tommy, I'm 27 years old and from Sweden. This year I picked up bass playing again (after not having played in a band for 8 years), and since last time around I'm more interested in my gear, and getting stuff that fits my style. Since the band I'm in play quite heavy rock (7 string guitars and 5 string bass, with frequent use of the low B-string) at high volumes, I've noticed that far from all commercial bass cabs are up to the task. Sure, there are some cabs that can handle the low tones I throw at them at the required volume, but they either need many watts doing so, are a bit of a pain to carry around, or just too expensive (or a combination of all three). I'm not a big guy myself (5'9"/120 lbs), so I prefer not lugging around bass cabs close to my own weight. I'm currently a student, so I can't afford too expensive gear either.

I've just completed some bass related DIY woodworking. I was given a 4x10" cabinet with blown speakers from a fellow bass player, and after playing around for a while in WinISD i decided it could become a perfect 2x12", so I built my own baffle, loaded it with 2 Eminence 12:s and it came out just really nice. I'll probably add a tweeter though.