New builder on an old project, a Mini Snail

devodave

New builder on an old project, a Mini Snail

#1 Post by devodave »

I'm Dave from Western NY and have wanted to play bass for sometime. I do not plan on performing, but just playing for my own enjoyment. I work as a QA engineer and am always trying to put my mechanical engineering training to "good" use (read FUN) :lol: . I have been planing on building an acoustic bass guitar for about the last year now and have purchased a cheap one to practice with until it is built. This year for Christmas, I received a copy of "The best of Make" from Makezine and their cracker box amp has morphed into a bass amp project that I am now working on, including the amp (Gainclone) and preamp (Kreuzer) :idea: . The cabinet has been the tough part. I didn't want to build a huge cabinet and since I will only playing for myself, it does not have to be loud. But I do want to reproduce the low bass notes of 30 Hz for 5 string or even lower.

I found this site after I had ordered Bill's "Loudspeakers for Musicians" and with that in hand, will atempt my first build. I know this site is mainly focused on the advertised products, but I have a question that maybe someone has attempted in the past. The Mini Snail seems to be the best project for my needs at this time. It is however, suited for higher bass response than I wanted. If I make the throat opening in the baffle the same ID as the driver, as is done in the Snail, will the bass response improve (go lower)? I know it only has an 8" driver and the tweeter(s) I could just as well leave out, but that was the major difference that I could see. I also have looked at using a 10" driver instead, but that increases the size of the cabinet. A reduced size Snail (10' driver) could also be an option, but with small children in the house, I know I would find all manner of things dropped inside.