Greetings from Wyoming! Advice needed

scooter83

Greetings from Wyoming! Advice needed

#1 Post by scooter83 »

Hello everyone,
I am a musician as well as a amateur sound engineer for my family's local venue. All of my gear was picked up second hand and is slowly failing one component at a time. After learning about BFM designs, I've had a very hard time pulling the trigger on any new cabs as I love building things and have decent woodworking skills. I have purchased plans for titan 39s and Otop 12s. I need some help deciding what to build, I have been reading threads on here for about a year and still can't figure out what I want to do. The venue's main area is about 40x60 feet with high open ceilings. We do mostly metal and punk rock. I have been using 2x CW118v subs and 2x Peavey PR15s for the last few shows and they fill out OK but I know some BFM boxes will be worlds better.

I want to build 4x Otops but can't decide on CDs or melded piezos.

I need recommendations for the subs. Since I won't be moving the system out of the venue I was thinking two 2x12 titans would work but don't know.

I do have a driverack and a handful of amps to choose from.

Any feedback would be great!!!!

Bruce Weldy

Re: Greetings from Wyoming! Advice needed

#2 Post by Bruce Weldy »

I think you are on the right track for what you want to do. 4 OTops with CDs (use the 1.2k crossover version) and 4-6 T39s. All with the premium drivers of course.

6 - T39 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512
1 - T24
1 - SLA Pro
2 - XF210

"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

Bruce Weldy

#3 Post by Bruce Weldy »

But, Metal and Punk Rock in Wyoming???? :cowboy: :chainsaw:

6 - T39 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512
1 - T24
1 - SLA Pro
2 - XF210

"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

scooter83