Hello From Touchet WA

Drake

Hello From Touchet WA

#1 Post by Drake »

I'm new to the speaker building world. I have purchased a few books on speaker design and building, and learned a bit about designing and building sealed boxes, ported boxes, boxes with passive radiators, transmission line speakers. Surprisingly the books did not discuss horns. Well, I have a woofer in my car, a sealed box with two 12s and 400 watts of power. Worked great. But then I got married and my wife started putting groceries in the trunk, right up against the drivers. Kept telling her not to do that and she ignored me. Well, now the foam surrounding the drivers have all deteriorated, the drivers themselves have dents and holes, and of course my bass is a fraction of what it used to be. So I got online and started searching around for something that would have the speaker completely inside the box. Somehow I found Bill Fitzmaurice and discovered the Tuba 18. Figured it would work great in the car! Also, figured I could use it in my small home theater system. I also saw that I would like to build some other speakers as well, the line arrays for the home theater mains and center channels. And of course eventually the Tuba HT. So I went ahead and ordered the CD of all the speaker designs, emailed bill and had him send me the Tuba 18 plans via email, purchased the baltic birch as well as the tang band 8 inch driver. I've got nearly all the pieces cut out and the driver is arriving today. Definitely excited to hear what this speaker will do in the car.