Hello and bass guitar stack questions :)

HarleyM

Hello and bass guitar stack questions :)

#1 Post by HarleyM »

Hello, I'm a bass guitarist from Southern California! :D
Been reading up about BFM designs and I'm very impressed, not to mention it looks like fun.

I would like to build a bass guitar stack for performance on stage.
My current set up is a solid state class D Crown XLS 1000 power amp (bridged mono at 4Ω 1.1kW) into an Ampeg SVT-410HLF (4Ω 500W RMS).
This set up works adequately with the loud rock band I play with but I would like something better. In small clubs/medium sized bars with no PA support on bass, my rig is at it's limit since the drummer hits very hard. For most medium/small venues, the PA is already taken up by the keys/vox and I'm on my own.

Fortunately my amp can run 2 channels stereo or with crossover at 2Ω550W, 4Ω350W or 8Ω215W.
Figuring out which plans to buy, a single J112 and a T24/30 stacked look like a great setup, or maybe a J212? Or are DR200/250s better for bass guitar? Can anyone point me in the right direction? What are the typical ohm ratings of these speaker configurations? Are tweeter arrays overkill for bass guitar and only a single driver per cab needed outside PA use?

I'll admit I do not have the skills to build a jack lite but I have access to a workshop with a table saw, basic power tools and can purchase a cheap router.
Sorry for all the questions. Thank you :)

LelandCrooks

Re: Hello and bass guitar stack questions :)

#2 Post by LelandCrooks »

Pair of Jack 12's. Scalable, easy tote.
Or an Omni full range, comparable in size to what you have now.
If it's too loud, you're even older than me! Like me.
http://www.speakerhardware.com

Ryan Sober

#3 Post by Ryan Sober »

As an alternative, for an easier build, you could do an OmniTop12 and a Titan39 or Titan48 in the same width.

You would never have trouble being heard with that setup!

HarleyM

#4 Post by HarleyM »