Hello from Virginia

dbhokie

Hello from Virginia

#1 Post by dbhokie »

Hello everyone,

I have been a long time lurker here and at TB forums. To this point I have been in a comfort zone, purchasing and refinishing various Electric Basses over the past 18 years, gigging out and having fun. Only now have I found a lover I cannot resist. Only now have I started playing on a Double Bass. It feels like I am embracing a person, and ah the warmth..anyways I digress. This is the reason all of a sudden I want to post finally...the sound is so different from an EB..I wish I never had to amp the thing...it seems almost criminal. So I'm going to lurk around a bit more ask a few questions and try and set up a nice DB rig. Good to be here!

dbhokie

Re: Hello from Virginia

#2 Post by dbhokie »

I didn't really want to hijack another thread somewhere or post somewhere it didn't fit..but I couldn't figure out what to do.

I have 2 unused speakers on hand right now in my basement..I want to use them in either small 110 cabs or a small 210 cab. Normally I would pick a design and see the specc'd speakers and purchase some. In this case I am more asking which design should I go with for the speakers I already have?

Intention: To create an incredibly clear small cab to bring along to venues specifically for my DB, the thing is so beautiful sounding..I don't want enormous unbelievable huge stacks of speakers..just clarity.

What I have:
(1) A Faital 10HP1020 Datasheet - http://www.faitalpro.com/products/files ... heet_8.pdf
(2) A Faital 10FH500 - Datasheet - http://www.faitalpro.com/products/files ... heet_8.pdf

I bought these a bit back with some random intention I never got to, but I have them now and as they are expensive drivers, well, I'd like to use them.

Which cab designs should I be looking at to befit these?

Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin

#3 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice »