Hello from Missoula, Montana

jdelys

Hello from Missoula, Montana

#1 Post by jdelys »

Hello all. My name is Jeff Delys and I have been bitten by the horn loaded speaker bug. Hard. I've no experience with them nor do I know anyone that does, but am extremely interested in horn loaded construction techniques and performance properties. I have built many speakers over the years but all were boring rectangular boxes, some with round holes in the sides, and all sound really good.

I've a bit of dilemma in that I do not provide professional sound services nor do I play in a band that gigs. I do, however, really want to try my hand at building both a Titan39 and a DR250. Already have the plans. What the ?ell am I going to do with them though???? And apparently I have to build at least a pair of Titans to sound good. I have a good job and make enough money that I do not want to build stuff for sale. I have a well-equiped wood shop and live in the middle of four acres in the country with awesome neighbors who never complain about noise. At least not yet.

Here goes another useless adventure that is going to cost a lot of money but it sure does look like fun!

jdelys

Re: Hello from Missoula, Montana

#2 Post by jdelys »

PS - Here's my other out-of-control hobby. I can build them WAY better then playing them.

CoronaOperator

#3 Post by CoronaOperator »

jdelys wrote:

I've a bit of dilemma ... I have a well-equiped wood shop and live in the middle of four acres in the country with awesome neighbors who never complain about noise.
That's definitely a problem you have there. You may want to buy the whole CD of plans to help you with that.

Welcome to the forum.
Built:
17" width 10" driver Autotuba
2 x 29" width dual Lab12 Tuba60
6 x DR250 2510/asd1001
In progress:
2 x DR250 2510/asd1001
For best results, point the loud end of the array towards the audience

Grant Bunter

#4 Post by Grant Bunter »

Hi Jeff and welcome to the forum :)

Yes, you certainly have a problem!