Hello from MN.

brfwizard

Hello from MN.

#1 Post by brfwizard »

Hi all,

Glad I found this site. Happened to be by chance I found it and glad I did. I have been designing my own carry-able radio for the last 3 months and almost ordered the speakers for it when I came across this site.
What I wanted to do is build the loudest but smallest package I could do and was planning on using the highest wattage 6x9's x 4 with a crown xls1000 built in with a car deck as the input. Now that I came across this site and other reasons I decided I can't do what I want. I am now interested in the jack 10 or 12 for the same purpose. It's small enough to be half way portable but will go loud. This will be used at my work in a location inside brick walls and 200 ft by 75 ft but also outside for bonfires at my house and in my garage for tunes. I like listening to loud music when I'm relaxing or working. I already talked to crown on previous design and crown said no problem with what I wanted to do. Since this is a diff animal Will a jack 10 or 12 work for this purpose? Anything maybe I'm not seeing? or possibly there is another one of bill's designs that will serve my purpose better?

67baja

Re: Hello from MN.

#2 Post by 67baja »

Jacks make great tailgating rigs. Super efficient, so they don't need much power to get LOUD. If your wood working skills are up to it, I would recommend a Jack Lite - either 10" or 12". I built a J12 for the heck of it that is solar powered and uses a phone or mp3 player for input. I'll see if I can find a link for you.

edit: found it: http://billfitzmaurice.info/forum/viewt ... to#p231939
2 THTs, 2 TLAH, SLA curved, 1 8-AT, 1 AT JBL 1002D, 4 Otop12s, Jack 12, TT with Eminence 10", 2 SLAs, 1 T30 slim, 2 T30s (2-10" each), SLA Pros, TrT.

brfwizard

#3 Post by brfwizard »