New member musician from NYC

MysticMichael

New member musician from NYC

#1 Post by MysticMichael »

Hi all,

As you can see, I'm a brand new noob to the BFM forum. The name's Michael. I'm a transplanted Midwesterner from Michigan; have lived in New York City now for 18 years. I'm a musician. Main instrument is the electric bass.

I created my profile only a few days ago, though I don't intend to post much for the time being. I'll mostly be doing a lot of lurking, in order to learn some principles of good pro sound design and skillful PA system usage. My goal is to scope out what I'll need to develop my ultimate compact, lightweight, modular, scalable BFM live sound system - when the time is right.

As I look around, I notice that a great many of you apparently are DJs, audio engineers, builders, home stereo enthusiasts, and hobbyists - but not so many musicians as I am accustomed to (I became aware of BFM designs via TalkBass.com, where most of the members are players). I can't help wondering what percentage of BFM forum members are musicians - and if I'm really as outnumbered as I feel?

Since I am much more aesthetic than technical, I won't be joining in on many of the "deep physics" threads (at least the deep something threads), which will likely be over my head. With that caveat in place, I do expect to become more active over time, as I adjust to the scene here. Hoping to learn much...and when the time is right, to contribute what I can as well.

Good to be with you...

Cheers,

MM
"If the doors of perception were cleansed, everything would appear to man as it is: infinite."

- William Blake

AntonZ

Re: New member musician from NYC

#2 Post by AntonZ »

Welcome, Michael. You are definitely not the only bass player here. There's a few drummers, the occasional guitard, plenty of bass players. The man himself plays it, too.

Gregory East

#3 Post by Gregory East »