Hello Everyone!

shane2943

Hello Everyone!

#1 Post by shane2943 »

Hello everyone! Many thanks to Bill Fitzmaurice, the moderators, and those with experience who take the time to share that experience here on this great forum!

My name is Shane and I currently live in Houston (Katy) Texas. I'm a 26 year old up-and-coming something-or-other. What that means is, I currently work for one industry but wish to switch to another. I am an electronics technician for Walgreens. Anything that runs on electricity in a Walgreens store (minus light bulbs and the automatic front doors) I repair, install, and upgrade. I deal with many different systems from Linux servers, to alarm systems, to phone systems, to the Inkjet refill machines. I've been at this for 7 years now...and want/need a change. This is a good job, but I have always had a lingering passion since I was about 12: Audio. I love audio. I love the science, the physics, and everything about it. I would love to work in audio. I have no idea what end of the pro audio spectrum I'd do because I am not a professional by any means (I couldn't even play one on TV). I know enough to know that I don't know enough!

I am about to go back to school in the fall. Going to try my hand at the Audio Engineering courses at Houston Community College. They have a very good audio program...so I've heard. Going to take every course I can get my mits on, even the side courses that are not part of the Engineering certification. I'm not looking for a degree, since I already have one in Computer Electronics Engineering. But I am wanting to be certified (I don't even really know what that means at this point). Needless to say, all you audio pros out there: I envy you and I want to be one of you.