18'' drivers recycling

Get the lowdown on the down low.
joblow88

18'' drivers recycling

#1 Post by joblow88 »

Hey there, I'm new to this PA world but also a trained woodworker

I have read Bill's post about 18'' drivers and their limitation for horn loaded cab.
I also have 4 JBL 18SWS1100 wich the manufacturer advertise suitable for horn. https://jblpro.com/en-US/products/18sws1100
They also sell horn with these drivers inside. https://jblpro.com/products/ash6118

I would rater use the drivers that i already own insted of getting new ones for economical and ecological reasons. i was wondering if it was a full no go like bill sais or these are an exeption??
Also since all the plans are made to fit smaller drivers can i just scale it up until it fits or it is more complicated than that?

Thank you

Bruce Weldy

Re: 18'' drivers recycling

#2 Post by Bruce Weldy »

It would require a whole new design. Sell those JBLs and buy the correct ones. Those are expensive enough to probably get the new drivers with the proceeds.

6 - T39 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512
1 - T24
1 - SLA Pro
2 - XF210

"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

Bruce Weldy

#3 Post by Bruce Weldy »

And welcome to the forum. Tell us what you plan to use the subs for and we'll help send in the right direction. Live sound, DJ, etc.

6 - T39 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512
1 - T24
1 - SLA Pro
2 - XF210

"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin

#4 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice »

That Selenium driver wouldn't work well in a horn, the Qes is too high. It's not used in the ASH6118 cab, the 2242H is.

ACUA

#5 Post by ACUA »