Running tubas

Get the lowdown on the down low.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
DJStubbs
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm

Running tubas

#1 Post by DJStubbs » Sun Nov 25, 2018 11:42 pm

I’m sure it’s been said before. But when you run a series wired tuba daisy chained to another tuba does the voltage increase? I have my amps set at 70v rms and 80v max per channelis that sufficient? I know it’s not logical to run 2 different lab12 woofers but it is what it is for now until I can change them. I run qsc pld4.5 usually. Sometimes 1 tuba per Channel and often 2 tubas per channel. Thank you!
18x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
6x Renkus Heinz ST6
6x Renkus Heinz CFX218
2x Renkus Heinz ct5212
1x Lab Gruppen PLM10000Q
2x QSC PLD4.5
2x QSC PLD4.3

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/

User avatar
Tom Smit
Posts: 6936
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:24 pm
Location: Sarnia, Ont. Canada

Re: Running tubas

#2 Post by Tom Smit » Sun Nov 25, 2018 11:50 pm

No, do not increase voltage.

FYI, when another cab is plugged into the first one, the impedance goes down...and that results in increase in current flow....which means more watts from the amp.
TomS

Grant Bunter
Posts: 6408
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
Contact:

Re: Running tubas

#3 Post by Grant Bunter » Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:55 am

Why a new thread?

So many of your threads are asking the same question, or a variant of that question, time and time again. With or without new/different amplifiers.
Since it means you're essentially asking the same question, over and over, you're not making any effort at all to understand, and, given the amount of cabs you're running at times, you DO need to understand.

Check this older thread of yours, I'm pretty sure it's all explained there:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=24966

The above thread tells you:
The impedance load the amplifier "sees" with pairs of cabs, both lab12 and lab12C loaded cabs, and the voltage limits those cabs require...
Built:
DR 250: x 2 melded array, 2x CD horn, March 2012 plans.
T39's: 4 x 20" BP102 , 2 x 28" 3012lf.
WH8: x 3 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

Grant Bunter
Posts: 6408
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
Contact:

Re: Running tubas

#4 Post by Grant Bunter » Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:41 am

DJStubbs wrote:
Sun Nov 25, 2018 11:42 pm
I know it’s not logical to run 2 different lab12 woofers but it is what it is for now until I can change them. I run qsc pld4.5 usually. Sometimes 1 tuba per Channel and often 2 tubas per channel.
No, it isn't what it is, and it shouldn't be either.
You have, IIRC, 2 pairs of dual loaded lab12's, and the rest are dual lab12C loaded?
And a venue 360.
So you should be always able to pair the lab12's together, and the lab12c's together on a different output of the 360 and amplifier channels, and limit them all to their appropriate voltage limit...
Built:
DR 250: x 2 melded array, 2x CD horn, March 2012 plans.
T39's: 4 x 20" BP102 , 2 x 28" 3012lf.
WH8: x 3 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...

Post Reply