Newbie -- curious about tuba vs direct radiating

Get the lowdown on the down low.
STIchris722

Newbie -- curious about tuba vs direct radiating

#1 Post by STIchris722 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 5:42 pm

Hello all. Newbie here. I purchased plans for a tuba 24 I believe it was about a year ago and haven't gotten around to building it. For my first project I went a simplistic and built a 4 ft^3 enclosure tuned to 44Hz with an Eminence Kappalite 3015LF. I absolutely love the thing and the output is exactly as it should sound to me. The idea of a folded and or tapped horn really intrigues me, but I know nothing about them. I was hoping someone could explain with data or graphs something that would compare a sub like I described with that of a tuba. Also another question.....Isn't there something about not being able to hear when a tuba is being over driven due to the inherent design.

Of Bill's products, what do I need to make to give me the equivalent output of four (4) of these 15's I've already built? I apologize if this info is already available, but I searched and came up with nothing....and I'm new so cut me some slack!

Thank you,
Chris
Attachments
20170902_164405_resized_1.jpg

J_Dunavin

Re: Newbie -- curious about tuba vs direct radiating

#2 Post by J_Dunavin » Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:46 pm

Welcome!

I can definitely attest about not hearing Distortion through Bill's designs. It is very important to follow the plans and make sure your limiters and crossovers are set properly.

PS nice work on your ported box there :D
8 - DR200
2 - DR250
9 - T24
6 - T45
1 - Auto Tuba

STIchris722

#3 Post by STIchris722 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:53 pm