Slah pro amp help please

Is this amp OK?
Rob Shasta Guitar

Slah pro amp help please

#1 Post by Rob Shasta Guitar »

Hello all,
Just ordered the parts for some sla pros with the 5" drivers, and a single tuba sub, 16" wide.

I'm a guitar builder/musician and am looking to show off the great sound of my acoustic sounding electric guitar. I need a clear mid range for vocals and guitars to share, and stuff needs to fit in a subaru forrester.

Leland has been a big help with stuff, now I'll give him a break from my zillion questions and ask here.

So QSC cx 404 is a 4 channel amp, 250 each channel and weighs 21 lbs. Seems a good choice and I seem them on ebay around $3-400. This would be a nice diverse way to have stereo (a must for me) and power a sub and maybe a monitor, stays in budget too.

I kinda jumped on one on ebay that is a toa amp, same thing 4 x 250 but it is a high impedance 70v thing. It was $60 (1200 new) and I did not realize that it was not a standard ohmed amp. Wondering if I can use it for something. Can I drive a 16ohm monitor with the 19.6 ohm amp?

What is the minimum power that I need to drive these 3 speakers I'm making?

Sorry for the woodworker questions, I've been trying to learn from here and other sources, but really I want to build stuff with wood and then play guitar, so I'll thank ya'll for the help and keep singing songs.

Thanks,
Rob
Sla Pro 5" drivers, t39 10" driver

escapemcp

Re: Slah pro amp help please

#2 Post by escapemcp »

4 options as far as I can tell. Either:

1) Get a step down transformer for each speaker (this is the correct way to wire these amps up) - expensive and frequency response will suffer (so I guess that's out for your purposes)
2) Somehow modify the amp - probably best left to an EE
3) Double check that the amp doesn't have any low impedance outputs, just in case
4) Sorry to say it, but sell the amp and buy a low impedance one