Proper settings for my driverack w/ 8x T48s and 4x Omni15s

The hows and whys of running sound.
Riflefeet

Proper settings for my driverack w/ 8x T48s and 4x Omni15s

#1 Post by Riflefeet »

So I've done a handful of gigs now with the newly built rig and feel like I just haven't quite found the sweet spot for this system. I'll admit right off the bat that while I've been running sound for many years I've never run something this large and haven't ever quite gotten a true handle on understanding voltage limits, and how to be sure of where I am based on the settings on my limiter and compressor. I've been digging through the forum and learned some tid bits but haven't been able to put it all together.

My set up is as follows -

From the mixer it goes into a BBE 882i sonic maximizer --> DBX Driverack PA+ -----> Behringer inuke6000 -----> cabs

I'm running 8x 24'' wide T48s loaded with 3015LF's and 4x Omnitop15s loaded with 3015's.

My main concern is that I blew out some drivers during a gig and couldn't really determine why exactly. I was running the system exactly as I had previously a few times and hadn't had any issues and from a bit of reading on the limiters, thought I had them set at a safe level.

I run the limiters at +9-13dB with the "over easy" set to about 4-7. Compression is set to about 3dB. I'm playing recorded electronic music for the most part.

I'd greatly appreciate anyone willing to give me the run down on what voltage limits are on the drivers, and how the driverack and amps are impacting that voltage output, how to read the voltage output, and ways to maximize the sound while keeping the system safe by using the limiter and compressor. I realize this is seemingly basic but please have patience with me.... lol

Bruce Weldy

Re: Proper settings for my driverack w/ 8x T48s and 4x Omni15s

#2 Post by Bruce Weldy »

Ok, here's the down and dirty...
Riflefeet wrote: