24" THTLP from flat pack

Post your build odyssey here.
MA043HA

24" THTLP from flat pack

#1 Post by MA043HA »

Hey Y'all,
Here's my build thread for one 24" THTLP from a flat pack from speakerhardware.com. I'm a beginner when it comes to workworking. I decided to go with the flat pack for that reason. I've had a surge of motivation and energy for tasks and projects around the house this spring/summer and finally ordered the flat pack once I had a clean garage and work bench to actually assemble it! The one similar project I did a few years ago was to assemble a DTS10 sub kit from Danley. That went swimmingly and the beast is making some wicked LFE in my basement HT. Now I want horn loaded bass to mate with my Klipschorns in the living room.
THTLPstart (2).JPG
THTLPstart (2).JPG (60.41 KiB) Viewed 3087 times
THTLPpanel1.JPG
THTLPpanel1.JPG (34.73 KiB) Viewed 3087 times
THTLPpanels234a.JPG
THTLPpanels234a.JPG (36.7 KiB) Viewed 3087 times
THTLPpanels234c.JPG
THTLPpanels234c.JPG (35.62 KiB) Viewed 3087 times
THTLPpanels234b.JPG
THTLPpanels234b.JPG (37.33 KiB) Viewed 3087 times

MA043HA

Re: 24" THTLP from flat pack

#2 Post by MA043HA »

Page 8 of the newer THTLP plans explains how to attach the driver screw retention blocks to the baffle (panel 6). "...put adhesive on a block, clamp it in place, drive a screw through the baffle pilot hole to hold the block until the adhesive cures..."

I searched the site for info about the retention blocks and discovered that it's best to use solid wood rather than ply, but, how the heck do I clamp the block and drive a screw through the pilot hole into it AT THE SAME TIME?

The clamp is blocking any access to the pilot hole :noob:

Bill Fitzmaurice
Site Admin

#3 Post by Bill Fitzmaurice »

MA043HA wrote:"
I searched the site for info about the retention blocks and discovered that it's best to use solid wood rather than ply,
-1. Solid wood will split. Plywood won't.
The clamp is blocking any access to the pilot hole