Newbie from Colorado

jdmrivera

Newbie from Colorado

#1 Post by jdmrivera »

Hi - I'm a BBQ guy and cook for outdoor parties of 50-200 people. It would be great to have some good speakers to play music while we're cooking and eating. Music would be whatever pandora station the crowd likes but mostly modern rock and pop.

I was thinking of building an Omni 15 Tallboy (also purchased plans for SLA Pro and T39) and using an amp that I can connect a mp3 player, smartphone, or laptop as the source. Being a total noob I'm not sure what sort of amp I'd need for this application.

I'm open to all suggestions and thanks to the great website!
Built:
Omni Tallboy 15 w/3015LF (My BBQ music Machine!)
2 Lab 12 T39s 24" Wide
4 OT12s, 2 Melded Array, 2 Flat Array

Bruce Weldy

Re: Newbie from Colorado

#2 Post by Bruce Weldy »

Just kinda' depends on how far you want to take it.

A Tall Boy running mono would be pretty slick and compact. With a little 2 channel mixer, you would be able to play music and make announcements if needed. An inexpensive amp from Behringer would power it fine.

The SLA Pro and T39 would be bigger, louder, and would require more gear to run properly. If mono, you could do it with one amp.....stereo would take two (or a 4 channel amp).

What kind of volume and coverage do you need?

6 - T39 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512
1 - T24
1 - SLA Pro
2 - XF210

"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."

jdmrivera

#3 Post by jdmrivera »

Thanks Bruce. I want to keep things fairly simple to setup which is what attracted me to the Tallboy. I'd say the crowd I'm concerned about the most (cooks and folks helping) is generally within an area of 50x50 ft. maybe a little more.