Titan 39

henryperry

Titan 39

#1 Post by henryperry »

Just a little introduction as the Topic suggests. I've been playing guitar on and off (mostly off) for 40 years. When I started in churches, then clubs, if you had a powered Peavey XR-1200 or an XR-600 and a couple of 15's on Stands you ROCKED. Not so much these days. So as my tribute band, through the trials and tribulations, has progressed I've bought more gear and added more power. (still don't know how to properly use it) Of course those of you who have done live gigs in local watering holes know, when you arrive for the first gig one of the staff ushers you to the "stage" and says "set up here". As you evaluate the 6" tall 10' by 6' stage that you have to get a 5 piece AC/DC tribute band setup on you ask "where is the power"? They show you two outlets, one has been pulled slightly from the wall. When you ask if they are on separate breakers the answer is almost always "I don't think so". So I need more sound (and better sound) with less power draw. So I'm going to attempt to build 2 24" Titan 39's with Lab 12's. I don't really have any woodworking experience. I am more of a "fix the car when you have to" kind of DIY'er. Hopefully the two T39's will allow me to sell off the 2 1x15 and 2 1x18 cabs I use now and then only use 1 EP4000 amp, keep the other amp for a spare. So I'll try not to be a bother, but I will be lurking and if I'm stumped I'll be asking questions. To the guys who post threads here and answer questions...Some of you are really amazing. Thanks for taking the time to share your knowledge and expertise.

Grant Bunter

Re: Titan 39

#2 Post by Grant Bunter »

G'day Henry,
Welcome to the forum :)

Any particular reason you're going for the Lab12?
Based on www.speakerhardware.com pricing, the 3012lf costs $15/driver more, but will save you about 15 pounds per cab in weight, and the step of having to put in chamber reducers.
Output with both drivers will be identical.