It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:06 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm
Posts: 121
I may be buying 4 more Tuba60 Dual LAB12 Subs soon
and right now i am running 2 EP4000s for my current 4 t60s

What amps should i get to run all 8. would 2 crest 5.0s be powerful enough or maybe 2 3.0s?
Or should i go bigger? I want to try and keep it around 2 amps but 4 could be ok if they arent too expensive.
Trying to keep it under $2000
And i do use generators sometimes.

I would keep getting ep4000s but i had issues with my 2 and they are also very heavy.
And what do you guys recommend i do for inputs to outputs for all these amps. A normal mixer from a DJ only has 2 xlr outputs.
I dont think y splitter XLRs would be the best idea. But i dont know.
If i went crest i could get 2 XLR outputs and an inputs.
I dont have a problem buying another drive rack pa2.

_________________
10x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
5x DR280 - Melded 22 piezo array
2x Crest Audio 5.0
1x Peavey IPR2 3000

https://ibb.co/e0Uazv
https://ibb.co/bUxmJQ

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 6092
Location: New Braunfels, TX
DJStubbs wrote:
I dont think y splitter XLRs would be the best idea. But i dont know.

I dont have a problem buying another drive rack pa2.


Absolutely nothing wrong with a Y to the amps.....that's no different than using an in and an out....it's just a parallel pass through.

If there isn't a parallel input on the amp (it could be XLR or TRS), make the jumper at the amps. This is the only pic I have of this connection....from a rack a did a few years back. Kinda' grainy, but you can see the jumper from the bottom amp to the one above it.
Attachment:
Retro FX rack 001 detail.jpg
Retro FX rack 001 detail.jpg [ 42.48 KiB | Viewed 745 times ]

_________________

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm
Posts: 121
If I wire my t60s in series what are the ohms they produce?

_________________
10x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
5x DR280 - Melded 22 piezo array
2x Crest Audio 5.0
1x Peavey IPR2 3000

https://ibb.co/e0Uazv
https://ibb.co/bUxmJQ

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Posts: 5647
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
DJStubbs wrote:
If I wire my t60s in series what are the ohms they produce?


Dual lab12 loaded cabs in series, so add nominal impedance. 6 + 6 = 12ohms per cab
You can also add +2 ohms per cab above that for acoustic impedance, but when it comes to amps and what to use, personally I think one is better off ignoring that.

Not sure why you didn't add to the amps post you had a short while back.

Can I just say you need to start learning all this stuff. Not just let us answer for you.
Why?
Because your reputation as a DJ depends not only on your ability to DJ, but also on your equipment working without fail, and, you need to know all this stuff so that at any gig, if something does fail, you can fix the problem on the fly and keep the show going.

Not said at all as a criticism, just trying to help you and your business...

_________________
Built:
2 x DR 250 (melded array) with March 2012 plans.
4 x 20" BP102 T39's, 2 x 28" 3012lf loaded underway.
3 x WH8 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm
Posts: 121
Grant Bunter wrote:
DJStubbs wrote:
If I wire my t60s in series what are the ohms they produce?


Dual lab12 loaded cabs in series, so add nominal impedance. 6 + 6 = 12ohms per cab
You can also add +2 ohms per cab above that for acoustic impedance, but when it comes to amps and what to use, personally I think one is better off ignoring that.

Not sure why you didn't add to the amps post you had a short while back.

Can I just say you need to start learning all this stuff. Not just let us answer for you.
Why?
Because your reputation as a DJ depends not only on your ability to DJ, but also on your equipment working without fail, and, you need to know all this stuff so that at any gig, if something does fail, you can fix the problem on the fly and keep the show going.

Not said at all as a criticism, just trying to help you and your business...



I was asking good questions. People have their own setups and im curious what they use??
And i heard differently and I was double checking. and i dont dj anymore i rent this stuff out to djs and festivals/events.
I realize that you add 2 for the box. i plan on running 2 per channel on my amps. just wondering if i could do 3 per channel.

I am here to learn that is why i am here. I think this is better than me going off and having shit happen at a gig.
I can prevent things from happening before it even does.

_________________
10x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
5x DR280 - Melded 22 piezo array
2x Crest Audio 5.0
1x Peavey IPR2 3000

https://ibb.co/e0Uazv
https://ibb.co/bUxmJQ

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/


Last edited by DJStubbs on Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 6092
Location: New Braunfels, TX
DJStubbs wrote:
i plan on running 2 per channel on my amps. just wondering if i could do 3 per channel.


Grant is correct that you need to learn the math on this stuff, but that aside - without knowing exactly which drivers (I assume Lab12s from the earlier post) and which amp (you mentioned maybe getting something else if I remember correctly), it's hard to properly answer the question.

When asking that kind of question, it's in your best interest to lay out exactly what the gear is so there is no ambiguity......that could get you a wrong answer that could cost you money.....plus, it keeps those of us who are willing to help you research and provide an answer from having to read though a bunch of old posts to figure out just where you are going.

So, give us the particulars and we'll help ya' out.

_________________

6 - T39 4-25" 2-22" 3012LF
4 - OT12 2512 Melded/NSD2005
1 - T24
2 - XF210


"A system with a few knobs set up by someone who knows what they are doing is always better than one with a lot of knobs set up by someone who doesn't."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm
Posts: 121
I have 2 crest audio 5.0 amps for my 6 t60s dual lab 12.
Now ive been told that i would have to wire series due to the larger voltage output.
So i am going to be doing that very soon.

I do plan on getting 2 more t60s in the next 6 months. if not sooner.
I plan on having around 10-12 in my final setup.

_________________
10x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
5x DR280 - Melded 22 piezo array
2x Crest Audio 5.0
1x Peavey IPR2 3000

https://ibb.co/e0Uazv
https://ibb.co/bUxmJQ

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 5:59 pm
Posts: 25667
DJStubbs wrote:
i dont dj anymore i rent this stuff out to djs and festivals/events.
Never rent anything that you won't mind getting back broken. The only way to be sure your gear doesn't get destroyed is to rent out your services along with the gear, and never let anyone else mess with the system.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm
Posts: 121
Bill Fitzmaurice wrote:
DJStubbs wrote:
i dont dj anymore i rent this stuff out to djs and festivals/events.
Never rent anything that you won't mind getting back broken. The only way to be sure your gear doesn't get destroyed is to rent out your services along with the gear, and never let anyone else mess with the system.


I have a smaller PA for djs to rent. but a few do rent my bigger pieces.
And im normally always there to watch it. or i set up and leave and come back.

_________________
10x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
5x DR280 - Melded 22 piezo array
2x Crest Audio 5.0
1x Peavey IPR2 3000

https://ibb.co/e0Uazv
https://ibb.co/bUxmJQ

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 5:59 pm
Posts: 25667
DJStubbs wrote:
i set up and leave and come back.
There's a thread posted here recently where someone did just that, and got a blown OTop 12 as a result when some moron managed to plug in a keyed Speakon the wrong way, by destroying the Speakon. Don't think that you can win the battle against idiots. You're vastly outnumbered.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:12 am
Posts: 5647
Location: Ilfracombe Queensland Australia
DJStubbs wrote:
I have 2 crest audio 5.0 amps for my 6 t60s dual lab 12.
Now ive been told that i would have to wire series due to the larger voltage output.
So i am going to be doing that very soon.

I do plan on getting 2 more t60s in the next 6 months. if not sooner.
I plan on having around 10-12 in my final setup.


It's not just because of larger voltage output of the amplifier, it's also about trying to manipulate impedance loads to maximise cabs per channel, and reduce amplifier strain.

It was also said to wire the cabs internally with serial drivers, and connect those cabs in parallel.

The Crest 5 amplifier specs say, using 20Hz-20Khz output figures, that with 2 ohm per channel loads, that output is a max of 2250W, or 67V.
Could you use three cabs per channel? Yes.
Should you use three cabs per channel? No.

Your new investment (eg the Crest 5.0 amps) will work for much longer and with less strain if you use a maximum of 2 cabs per channel. 3 cabs per channel is starting to flog the amp to death.

Initially, in the other thread I think, it was said the Crest 5.0 was capable of 105V. Turns out the spec sheet says maximum voltage swing is 105V. Please note though that's different from what the output figures say...

_________________
Built:
2 x DR 250 (melded array) with March 2012 plans.
4 x 20" BP102 T39's, 2 x 28" 3012lf loaded underway.
3 x WH8 with melded array.
Bunter's Audio and Lighting "like"s would be most appreciated...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New Amps
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:51 pm
Posts: 121
Grant Bunter wrote:
DJStubbs wrote:
I have 2 crest audio 5.0 amps for my 6 t60s dual lab 12.
Now ive been told that i would have to wire series due to the larger voltage output.
So i am going to be doing that very soon.

I do plan on getting 2 more t60s in the next 6 months. if not sooner.
I plan on having around 10-12 in my final setup.


It's not just because of larger voltage output of the amplifier, it's also about trying to manipulate impedance loads to maximise cabs per channel, and reduce amplifier strain.

It was also said to wire the cabs internally with serial drivers, and connect those cabs in parallel.

The Crest 5 amplifier specs say, using 20Hz-20Khz output figures, that with 2 ohm per channel loads, that output is a max of 2250W, or 67V.
Could you use three cabs per channel? Yes.
Should you use three cabs per channel? No.

Your new investment (eg the Crest 5.0 amps) will work for much longer and with less strain if you use a maximum of 2 cabs per channel. 3 cabs per channel is starting to flog the amp to death.

Initially, in the other thread I think, it was said the Crest 5.0 was capable of 105V. Turns out the spec sheet says maximum voltage swing is 105V. Please note though that's different from what the output figures say...


Ok thank you!

_________________
10x Tuba 60 - Dual 12" LAB
5x DR280 - Melded 22 piezo array
2x Crest Audio 5.0
1x Peavey IPR2 3000

https://ibb.co/e0Uazv
https://ibb.co/bUxmJQ

Klarity Audio & Lighting
https://www.facebook.com/KlarityAudio/


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
banner
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited